10 films I’m looking forward to in 2014

Happy New Year, readers!

So I was watching The Avengers (beautiful movie) last night in order to kickstart 2014- I’m not cool enough for the parties- and me and a friend were talking about some of the great movies we’re expecting to see on the big screen this year! So without further ado, here are my top ten films I’m looking forward to for 2014:

10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Releasing April 4 2014 

Image

Everybody loves a good Superhero movie now and then, myself being a huge fan of Marvel and it’s glorious heroes. The Winter Soldier is a sequel to the first film, The First Avenger and the events occurring in The Avengers. I’m really looking forward to this one because Cap will be joined by a bunch of familiar old faces, which is pretty cool, as I personally can’t wait to see Maria Hill, Nick Fury and Natasha Romanoff back in action. For all of you who just couldn’t get enough of the star spangled hero in The First Avenger and the Avengers, coming in at Number 10 is Captain America: The Winter soldier!

9. X-Men: Days of Future Past

Releasing May 24 2104

Image

I know what you’re thinking, another superhero movie? Give me a break. They’re not all Marvel, I promise! This is a super exciting one for me as I’m a huge X-Men fan and this one takes place after First Class. If you’re not an X-Men watcher, I recommend watching X-Men: The Last Stand and X-Men: First Class before looking at this one! It’s got the killer ensemble, Hugh Jackman, Halle Berry, Jennifer Lawrence, Ian McKellen, Ellen Page, Peter Dinklage and James McAvoy, to name a few. Peter Dinklage’s joining of the cast is in my opinion absolutely great because he’s an amazing actor and I can’t wait to see him taking the role of Bolivar Trask, the primary antagonist. Coming in at Number 9, is X-Men: Days of Future Past!

8. Pompeii

Releasing February 24 2014

pompeii

So for those of you who don’t know, I’m a MEGA Ancient-History nerd and obviously, any historical-movie excites me more than it should.  But as always, every historical movie has some twist in it somewhere and this one follows a slave-turned-gladiator and wealthy merchant’s daughter. Obviously the twist is Pompeii is crumbling so they literally have to save their love. The main actor is Kit Harrington, and for those of you who don’t know, he’s the beautiful man who plays Jon Snow in Game of Thrones, so even if you’re not a history nerd but want some eye candy, you should probably check this out! Coming at Number 7 on the list of films I’m going to see in 2014, Pompeii!

7. After the Dark

Releasing February 7 2014

afterthedark

So this movie was originally titled “The Philosophers” and it’s a really interesting looking movie about a philosophy teacher who challenges his class of graduating students to choose among themselves who they would save in the case of a Nuclear Apocalypse. The twist is, he takes them to a bunker, and only ten out of the twenty can survive. And when he says survive, he means survive. It looks super interesting and it’s kind of that weird thriller one so I’m hoping this one is good!

6. The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Releasing May 2 2014

spiderman

Now let me be clear; when I went to see the Amazing Spider-Man with my brother and some friends, I was 300% sure it was just the next film in the Spider-Man franchise (i.e. the sequel to Sipder-Man 3) which honestly, I wasn’t too pumped about so I didn’t bother to do any research or anything for this film. So when I sat down in the cinema and I saw Andrew Garfield on the screen I was soo happy and much preferred the new film to it’s predecessors. Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone are perfect both together and on screen and the next film plans to lead on directly from the first, so I’m excited and therefore number 6 on my list is The Amazing Spider-Man 2!

5. The Hobbit: There and Back Again

Releasing December 17 2014

hobbit 

So if you know me, you’d know I am a HUGE fantasy lover and a massive Tolkein fan. I think I cried when I found out the Hobbit was being adapted for the Big Screen. The first two movies were sublime and therefore I can not wait for the final installment of the trilogy! I love the cast too, Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen, Richard Armitage and Cate Blanchett are such great actors. The effects too, like I was amazed at the Desolation of Smaug, it was extremely well done. I’m also really interested to see how they’ll piece the story together and finish it all off, it’s so exciting and for that, landing at number 5 on my list of must-see 2014 movies is the Hobbit: There and Back Again.

4. Divergent

Releasing March 21 2014

divergent

So Divergent is an upcoming movie based on the novel of the same name written by Veronica Roth. I hugely love the book and it’s one of those dystopian, post-apocalyptic novels which scare me to pieces but also enthrall me to no end. Without giving too much away for people who haven’t read the books, it’s about a land where you belong to a certain faction based on your personality. The question is what happens to you when you find out you don’t necessarily fit into any particular faction at all? Strongly recommend this movie if you enjoyed things like The Hunger Games. I’m looking forward to it, and hopefully the book-to-movie adaptation won’t be too bad!

3. Maleficent

Releasing May 30 2014

maleficent

So Maleficent is based from the witch, in Disney’s Sleeping Beauty. I loved that movie as a child and therefore I feel I must to go and see this. It’s one of those dark-fantasy ones but you kinda know it’ll be okay for the family because it’s a Disney Film.  Maleficent explores the background and the story of the titular character and I’m looking forward to it because she was one of my favourite Disney villains so hopefully it should be really good! The cast also are worth mentioning, they’ve got Angeline Jolie, Elle Fanning, Imelda Staunton and Peter Capaldi so honestly I expect big things! For these reasons my third place spot goes to Maleficent!

2. The Fault in Our Stars

Releasing June 6 2014

tfios

So I’m not the biggest chick-flick/romance/drama movie fan, and when I do watch one, I don’t tend to read the book which the film is based on. However in this case, I am so madly in love with this book that I can not wait for it to be made into a movie.  The story follows a boy and girl both suffering from terminal illnesses and their time together. Now obviously they fall in love and there are twists along the way (trying not to spoil because it’s sooo good). It’s humourous, cute, sad all at once and it’s just so good and I just can’t wait for it and I’ll be a mess at the cinema when I do watch it, which is why it takes second place on my must see movie list of 2014!

1. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part I

Releasing November 21 2014

mockingjay

And last but most certainly not least, at Number One on my list of movies to see in 2014 is Mockingjay Part I! I am a huge Hunger Games nerd and I loved both of the movies that have already been released! I read the Hunger Games four or five months before the first film’s theatrical release and in order to ensure that I went and watched it, I made my mum and brother read the books and got them hooked into it, so that way they gladly took me to see the film! I love the cast, they have an A-Lister, honestly. Jennifer Lawerence, Elizabeth Banks, Woody Harrelson, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth and Sam Claflin are so amazing, but what’s better is that they’re joined by even more amazing actors, most notably the beautiful Natalie Dormer! Big Expectations for this movie and I am extremely excited so for that reason, Mockingjay Part I takes the throne of my list of movies to see in 2014.

So that’s it for today folks! Do you agree with my choices? Are there any movies you’re looking forward to that I’ve forgotten? What’s the one film you’re most definitely going to the midnight screening for? Let me know in the comments section below!

Love always,

Suhail x

5 thoughts on “10 films I’m looking forward to in 2014

  1. Me… I think:
    RoboCop (It’s akiller robot cop dude! What’s not to like! Besides, I saw the tv show…)
    Noah (It has Emma Watson and Logan Lerman. Weee) and
    The Giver (The book. nuff said).

Leave a Reply

